Baked figs with mozzarella, Serrano ham and rucola leaf…

Standard

Hi,

It’s been a long time since I posted anything.

Today I ate something super delicious and I thought I want to share it with you and record it for the future…

I have a beautiful garden with super tasty figs which unfortunately some birds also found very attractive. In order not to loose all of them I harvested a lot. A lot also needed to be thrown out. From some I made a jam, some I use for smoothie but I was still left with high number of them.

Since I love them backed I thought I will make dinner with figs. I was in Spain recently and I got inspired by delicious taste of Spanish ham.

Here are the ingredients for one person:

– 3 potatoes

– 4 figs

– 4 slices of Spanish Serrano ham

– 1 mozzarella

– handful of rucola leaf

– 1 teaspoon of balsamic dates vinegar

– 1 teaspoon of honey

– salt, pepper and thyme for seasoning

 

Know-how:

The recipe is very easy. To shorten the backing time. I first cut in pieces the potatoes, no peeling off and then steamed for 20 minutes. Please note that the steaming or cooking time, I you prefer so, depend on the potatoes type and size of the cut blocks.

In the meantime I cut the x-shape at the top of figs and opened them gently. Once the potatoes were done, I place them in an oven dish, seasoned with salt, pepper and thyme, added the figs (no seasoning) and backed in oven for 15 minutes at 200 degrees Celsius.

After 15 minutes, I put mozzarella on the figs and backed for another 3 minutes, so the mozzarella got warm and slightly melted.

Then I took the oven dish out and placed the Spanish Serrano ham on the top of figs and decorated with rucola leaf. Then I poured with dates vinegar and honey.

This is it. Simple and delicious.

20190730_1904128493593094796598809.jpg

Greetings,

*Enjoy your meal* OnMyDish.wordpress.com

 

If you are interested in my other posts, I encourage you to make use of “Post Index” where you can locate and learn about all the posts on my blog.

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: Posts Index | onmydish

Leave a comment