Coriander, my best friend??? Spicy chicken curry

Standard

Hi,

I promised to share this recipe a long time ago and finally I do it;) When thinking of a dish for my friends, I got inspired by one of the Albert Heijn magazines; I decided to cook Thai.

I must say, I never liked coriander. One of my Indian friends serves it quite a lot in their regional dishes. These were the only coriander dishes I liked. I was always wondering why Nigella Lawson is so enthusiastic about it. Well, I decided to take a risk, follow the recipe and use coriander.

I tell you! I felt in love with it! 🙂

What about you? Are you a fun of coriander?

 

 

Just to warn you… You need to spend some time in the kitchen; it’s not a quick recipe but I tell you… it’s definitely worth of your time! Let’s get to the point.

Ingredients (for four people):

–          300g rice

–          4cm fresh ginger

–          1 red pepper

–          2tbsp. oil

–          2 garlic cloves

–          2tsp. sesame oil

–          300g chicken breast

–          1 can coconut milk

–          1 pack basil

–          1 pack coriander

–          2tbsp. fish sauce (I used 8 king prawns instead)

–          2tsp. sugar

–          2tbsp. corn starch

–          1 lime

–          Salt and pepper to taste

Know-how:

  1. Cook rice.
  2. Grate ginger.
  3. Remove pits from red pepper and slice into thin pieces.
  4. Fry ginger and red pepper in oil and sesame oil for about 3min.
  5. Add chopped chicken and fry for about 4min.
  6. Blend coconut milk with basil and 2/3 coriander. Add it together with fish sauce (I used 8 sliced king prawns instead) and sugar. Cook.
  7. Stir corn starch with 4tbsp. water and add to sauce. Cook unit sauce gets a bit thicker.
  8. Grate off the very outside skin of the lime peel and squeeze it. Add to sauce together with salt and pepper. Cook for short time.
  9. Serve with cooked rice, and sprinkle coriander over the top.
  10. Voila 🙂

Source: Recipe of Laura Roerbroeck, Kruidige kipcurry, Allerhande van Albert Heijn, p. 139, nr. 05-2012


Enjoy your meal *OnMyDish.wordpress.com*

 

If you are interested in my other posts, I encourage you to make use of “Post Index” where you can locate and learn about all the posts on my blog.

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

