Potato casserole with aubergine and duck breast

Standard

Hi,

 

Every week I buy organic vegetables. It’s better for your health but also tastier. In one of the packages I got aubergine.

During the week I try to make quick meals. That time I already boiled potatoes the day before; that speeded up my cooking time. I came from work quite late and I was starving. One of key points when you try to keep your weight under control is regular eating. I know they are people that can skip their dish for many hours but believe me, for me even 15 minutes make a huge difference. Some people know me very well… When I’m hungry, I’m angry 😉 Not mentioning weak… Ok, back to the dinner.

 

On my dish was: Potato casserole with aubergine and duck breast

Ingredients (for 2 people):

–         4 middle size potatoes (boil but do not salt)

–         1 small aubergine

–         1 mushroom (you can use more but I had just one:))

–         Egg whites from 2 eggs (these were leftovers… you can use whole egg- then 1 is enough)

–         1 slice Gouda cheese

–         ½ onion

–         1 garlic clove

–         100g sliced smoked duck breast (with a little bit of fat)

–         1 tsp. curry

–         Salt and pepper

–         1tsp. oil for frying

 

Know-how:

To speed up the backing time I fried, with a little amount of oil, all vegetables. See below for more details…

  1. Mash potatoes, press garlic, add egg whites, curry, salt, pepper and mix all ingredients.
  2. Peel aubergine and cut into 1cm slices.
  3. Peel onion and cut half into slices.
  4. Cut mushroom into slices.
  5. Fry all vegetables for few minutes (use that time to preheat your oven and clean up all mess…).
  6. Spread half of the potatoes mix in the prepared pan.
  7. Top with the vegetables and sliced duck breast.
  8. Spread second half of the potatoes mix.
  9. Decorate with cheese.
  10. Bake 15-20 min in 200oC.

Yummy, it was so tasty. I’m getting hungry again…:)

     

Please forgive me this messy the picture below! 🙂

*Enjoy your meal* OnMyDish.wordpress.com

One response »

  1. Pingback: Posts Index « onmydish

Leave a Reply

